Wow. Six years since the towers fell. It’s hard to believe it’s been that long.

I hope we’ll all take a moment to remember that terrible event and pray for the families who still, I’m sure, grieve over the loss of loved ones in such a sudden and horrible manner. It’s still eerie to see a photo of the New York City skyline without those awesome buildings. And I still remember the feelings and the moments that day as if it were yesterday. Never forget how fragile and beautiful life is, and what a wonderful gift of God it is.

And while we’re at it, let’s think about the places in this world where people are losing loved ones in even greater numbers to sickness, disease, poverty, and war. We can’t prevent a lot of that tragedy, but there are some things we can do. So today I’m going to push my own and my wife’s pet charities.

Add your voice to the ONE campaign. It’s free and quick. Just go here.

If you’re able, support some of the initiatives of Heifer International here.

Of course, I always recommend sponsoring a child through either World Vision or Compassion.

And for those of us who are moved by the plight of the very poor HIV-AIDS children around the world, especially in Africa, I recommend Keep a Child Alive.

And last but not least, if you see a firefighter or policeman today, thank them for what they do!

