Thankful

I get to preach this coming weekend… about Communion and Thanksgiving and how they’re connected and what the idea of Eucharist means to the church, what it meant to the early church, and what it’s supposed to do to us.

I’m thankful for so much today. I’m thankful for some gorgeous weather, for my family, especially my wife, for food in my belly, and gas in my tank… And I’m thankful for coffee (REALLY thankful for coffee…). But what I’m most thankful for today is that being thankful means I can do something for someone else, to pass it on, to “pay it forward”… and make someone else thankful by what God gives me to do.

Do something for someone today… Make them thankful!

4 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Andrew Hamm says:

    I’m fascinated by the intersections of the Communion, thanksgiving, family meals, and just general fellowship. If Christ is wherever two or three are gathered in his name, does that make a family meal a kind of holy Communion, but without the confusing transubstantiation?

  2. Julie says:

    Oh, yes, I think a family meal, especially one that is large and loud and loving and joyful, is a form of communion.

    Without the confusing transubstantiation stuff.

    Maybe it isn’t a sacrament, but it’s sacramental,

    If you get my drift.

Leave a Reply

