I saw a really troubling image today. I can’t verify the source, so I won’t post it, but here’s a description. It is a photo of a number of people praying for our economy, literally putting their hands on the “bull” in New York City. It looked a little like the children of Israel worshipping the golden calf (now all grown up with horns). I know that those people didn’t mean it, and I think it is very important for us to pray for the peace, health, and prosperity of the nation we live in… but I wonder how many of those folks praying for our economy have gone hungry lately, or lost a child to starvation, or a parent to AIDS/HIV. I suspect that they, like me, have a roof over their heads, and even in these uncertain times are getting three meals a day. There are thousands of children who die every single day… and we can do something about it.

Sign the ONE petition.

Sponsor a child (or two) through Compassion or World Vision. (I don’t care which, and guess what… neither do they I bet…)

Or keep a child alive, by paying for anti-retroviral drugs for him or her.

Or buy a cow for a village through Heifer International.

Or do all of the above or ________________(you fill in the blank).

Today… not tomorrow…

