I’ve been to 10 of these Leadership Summits, and it never ceases to amaze me that the guy I think isn’t going to be that big of a deal ends up being a favorite presenter. Daniel Pink was that for me this year.

In a nutshell. “Management” is still being done the way that it was done when it was invented in the mid-nineteenth century. We think that dangling carrots or threatening with sticks is still the best way to motivate people to perform and excel.

It isn’t.

Invite them into the cause. Let them see their progress, let them get involved and sold out for the vision and mission of what you do. Leaders often think that they are motivated by more noble things than “followers” are. It’s not true.

And… Human beings are NOT passive and inert. They are active and engaged by default. Look at a 2- or 4-year old.

I’ve already ordered his book!

