Because of the privilege and authority God has given me, I give each of you this warning: Don’t think you are better than you really are. Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves, measuring yourselves by the faith God has given us.

First, why does paul have the right to even say any of this stuff? He points that out. God has given him this right, this “privilege and authority”, so he’s able to continue from where we left off with a warning.

How many of us, whether ordinary people or celebrities or pastors or doctors or bus drivers or manufacturing workers or… whatever we do and are… think of ourselves a little too highly. In the grand scheme of things, you are only one of about 7 billion people on this planet, and God got along fine without you and could again. So don’t think your gifting, your abilities, your activities and actions, or any of that stuff has anything to do with how God wants you to measure yourself up.

How does he?

It seems partly by the faith that God has given you. Not faith as an accomplishment because of all you’ve learned or done or taught or read or any of that. Faith that was a gift from God… to you… If you’re reading this and you don’t have that faith, reading more, studying more, doing more, learning more will not get it done. Stop… Pray… Ask… it will be totally given to you.

God, look at me, I pray, not in the light of my accomplishments, and not in the light of my faults and failings either. Please, look at me by the measure of the faith that You have given to me. Look at me in the light of my surrender to Your Son. Help me seek after You, after Your Anointed One. And in that, to find eternal life. Amen.

