a free song for you…

“cruel earth”

It’s my idea of a modern “lament psalm”. I wrote it about 15 or so years ago and recorded it around 11 years ago. I still kinda like this one even though it’s kinda sad. I imagine a traveler who’s been far from home for many years, and has never felt that he can go home because of all the hurt that he’s caused and has been caused him. Before you ask, there isn’t some deep-seated hurt I wrote this about, other than the pain each of us feels with our sin. It’s from a collection of songs called “Turn”. If you like this, I’ll post a few more from that same era.

I hope you like it. You can hear it free here.

can you tell i’ve been hurt before?
i do it myself, i can’t keep control.
can you see i’ve been blind before?
i’m still falling, tumbling down this hole.

don’t leave me to the cruel earth. don’t leave me, lead me home.

did you know that i bleed inside?
i keep it buried, where i hope that it won’t show.
do you see i only blame myself?
and hide my heart where i know no one will go.
can you see that i’m hurt again?
i’m falling down, running away.
can’t you see i’ve found no way to change?
nothing left to do and nothing left to say.

don’t leave me to the cruel earth. don’t leave me, lead me home.

did you see how i’ve lost everything?
no one will stay, i’ve got no place to go.
will You help me not to let it happen this time?
i’m going home, i’m going home, i’m going home.

©2000 Peter J. Hamm. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

