There was some discussion recently (on an internet group) about what Worship is. That’s fine, but here’s what’s annoying.

 

I was the first (and I think the last) of the discussants to actually appeal to Scripture. Most if not all of the other folks brought up some wonderful nice thoughts about how it’s like “hugging God” and stuff like that, occasionally even quoting some famous Christian worship musician or some such with nice thoughts about God’s presence at all.

 

News flash: Worship has nothing to do with what you get out of it, although I hope you do get something from it. Worship has nothing to do with you or me or anything. It only has to do with one person. Yeah, you know where this is going maybe. Lately, I’ve been asked a number of times what my philosophy of worship is. And honestly, I don’t have one. The Bible has one and I use it.

 

And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him. (Romans 12:1 NLT)

 

It’s the start of a new day, and a new week. Worship him in surrender!

