A couple weeks back, my son broke his camera.

He was rough on it.

I had given him this old point-and-shoot camera that neither my wife nor I used anymore (I prefer a DSLR for pretty much anything), and he had been enjoying it for about a year. But he was rough with it, and it broke. Unrepairable. Unredeemable. Broken. Gone.

I almost cried when I heard, because it was such a “grown up” toy and Charles was really doing some fun stuff with it, taking videos of himself dancing to TobyMac, or taking cool photos of our dog Zoe and stuff like that.

And, if I had the means, I felt like I would love to run right out and buy him another camera. But I wouldn’t, even if I could… This is such a great lesson for him that there are consequences, and I don’t want to rob him of that very earthy and real lesson either.

So, we’ll have to wait and see how he can manage to save up money to buy himself his very own camera, and he’ll appreciate it even more. And I bet he never breaks another camera again.

And I learn the lesson that God knows really well… that sometimes a parent has to just let his child fail and suffer in order to make sense of life and all it holds, the good, the bad, the in between.

But those are hard lessons for a 9-year old, and not so easy for his dad either…

