What’s Really Important

As some of you know, I’m currently selling furniture. It’s a lot of fun! Well, anyway, yesterday afternoon, I helped an older couple, in their late 70s or early 80s I’d guess, who were so much in love it was neat to see. As I got to know them, I learned that they had each been widowed years ago, and between them, they were married 100 years in their first marriages…

WOW!

So, they’d only been married a couple years, and were looking for a new sofa and loveseat for a new home they were moving into, as they were downsizing from a larger house. I love hearing folks’ stories like this… but then… he dropped the bombshell…

The new furniture was probably mostly going to be enjoyed by her, as he was in Stage 4 of his cancer. But ya know what? He was filled with joy and hope and, as I learned, faith in Christ… It was so inspiring, but I felt like I was going to cry the whole time they were with me.

They didn’t take a lot of time to pick colors. They liked the way it looked on display, and said that color would be fine. They didn’t have time for insignificant choices like that… They only had time to love each other and spend their short time together as wisely as possible.

How can I do that?

One thought on “What’s Really Important

Leave a Reply

