I’m continuing my quest to spend the next 30 days sharing a blessing, each day, right here on this space. I hope you’ll join me, find your own blessing, thank God for it, and focus on that with me… but it’s up to you.

I know this is out of order… but it’s also an observation from my travel yesterday. I saw a really beautiful older couple traveling. I am guessing they’ve been together for three or four decades or more, and he was almost completely disabled. She was taking care of him so well, and it seemed like getting him in and out of his wheelchair was a normal part of her routine for a long long time.

But something that they said indicated to me that in fact this was a brand new development, perhaps only weeks old. He was not paralyzed, but most certainly could not walk on his own anymore, even with crutches or canes.

She was adjusting, in her later-middle age (I’m being generous here) to a whole new role as a spouse, that of a caregiver and helper to one who can no longer do what they were used to doing.

I hope, pray and, frankly, expect, that the same kind of love that showed in her face will be evident in the way my wife and I love each other as we get older, regardless of the obstacles or difficulties we face.

I am, in short, so thankful for the amazing partner God has put in my life that I can’t even describe it. She is, by far, my most amazing earthly blessing!

Bless you, God, for allowing me to be paired with someone who completes me more than I can ever realize.

