I’m continuing my quest to spend this whole month sharing a blessing, each day, right here on this space. I hope you’ll join me, find your own blessing, thank God for it, and focus on that with me… but it’s up to you.

Monday.

I love Mondays. I have for years. Because I work in the church, Monday is not technically the first day of my week, but it is a day of new beginnings. I adore the way that God made the universe to show his redemption story even in the mundane things of life. One week ends, another begins. The trees lose their leaves and seem to “die” for the Winter, only to awake again in the Spring… new life… Even the simple passage of one day to the next shows a death (sundown) and a resurrection (sunrise). Things die, return to the earth, and become the building blocks for new life.

Yes, on Monday I get to start again with a clean slate. Yes, I know that many of you have work and projects that go on from one week to the next, but even with that, if you properly rest, relax, recreate and recuperate on the weekend, you can face Monday with just a little more pep in your step than you did on Wednesday… or Thursday… (let’s face it, Friday is usually spent daydreaming about the weekend anyway, right?)

So, I’m clearing the decks, organizing my thoughts, and getting ready to attack this week’s cares and concerns (and there are many), with the new life of the new morning of a brand new week.

Bless you God, for Mondays… for beginnings… for new opportunities… and for second chances (and third, and fourth, and 137th)…

