I’m continuing my quest to spend this whole month sharing a blessing, each day, right here on this space. I hope you’ll join me, find your own blessing, thank God for it, and focus on that with me… but it’s up to you.

Yesterday I talked about the wonder of good, hard work. But there’s a time to stop all that. There’s a time, daily, weekly, and yearly… to just stop.

I’m not always good at this, but again, it’s built in to our physiology. For most of us, we need to sleep every single night. I’ve recently read a couple articles where doctors tell us that most of us who think we only need 4 or 5 or 6 hours sleep a night are kidding ourselves, that we really actually need 8 or 9… all of us. I try real hard to get 8, but a LOT of nights I manage to toss and turn, either because I had caffeine too late in the morning, or maybe I have something on my mind that won’t shut up.

You also need other kinds of rest. Go ahead… sit down on Sunday afternoon and fall asleep with that book in your lap… it’s okay, I promise you.

In any case… rest is great. It’s even a commandment. It’s okay to stop, relax, breathe. It’s better than okay…

Bless you God, that even YOU rested when you made everything, making it okay for us to do it, too. Bless our rest, so we might bless others by our work.

