Today I’m completing my quest to spend the whole month of July, sharing a blessing (most) every day. I saved the best for last, and in fact thought of this one first… but since it’s the greatest blessing I think we have on this planet, I saved it for today.

Many of you have been with me for this whole journey. Thank you. Some of you might just come to this page today for the first time. I hope that you take some action after reading this.

Okay, you could make it a point that, as a Christian, Christ and the Gospel are our greatest blessing. Today, I’m using the word “greatest” with regard to the greatest blessing that WE can be responsible for.

Most, if not all of you, are in the developed world. Most, if not all of you, are in the top 1 or 2 percent of the wealthiest on the planet. Most, if not all of you who actually read this space, count yourselves, by faith, among the spiritual or physical descendents of Abraham. When you combine all this, we have a tremendous opportunity to be generous, to continue the promise of God to Abraham that we will be a blessing to the world.

Genesis 18:17-19 (NLT)

Should I hide my plan from Abraham?” the Lord asked. “For Abraham will certainly become a great and mighty nation, and all the nations of the earth will be blessed through him. I have singled him out so that he will direct his sons and their families to keep the way of the Lord by doing what is right and just. Then I will do for Abraham all that I have promised.

I’m not going to preach Matthew 25 at you or anything like that today. I hope that you don’t take the opportunity to be a blessing to the poor as a chore or a requirement. I hope you see it as a blessing and a privilege… to be part of what God is doing in the world in a tangible way that has eternal “consequences” (the good kind).

If you don’t sponsor a child through one of these organizations, consider doing so. If you do, consider sponsoring another if you have means. If you’re not supporting your local house of worship through a regular tithe, consider making that a part of the way you get to bless the world… anyway… Go… be a blessing. It will cost you about a buck or two a day. That’s all.

Compassion International

World Vision

Keep A Child Alive

There are others, but those are a good start, and I think they’re doing great work.

Bless you God, that we get to be a real part of what you are doing, that we get to be your blessing to a hurt, broken, and poverty-stricken world.

