I miss this guy. I was reminded of him today, and am remembering the early 80s, when I first became a Christian. I was exposed to Christian culture, including music, that led me to believe that the only way to continue as a Christian was to surrender my brain, ignore hard questions, and follow along blindly wherever certain people led, people who used jargon and terms that were supposed to be hyper-spiritual, but sounded kinda hokey to me.

That’s when I got an LP called “Stop the Dominoes”. Mark let me know, through his words (there is a HUGE LONG interview that was included in the vinyl version of this album that I still pull out and read every now and then) and his amazing songs.

I ended up keeping my brain, asking hard questions, and avoiding all the jargon and Christianese. I have Mark to thank for that.

It’s a funny world we live in
It’s funny every day
Half the world prays like the preacher
The other half don’t even pray
So no one understands you
If you pray in your own way

Now I’m stuck here in the middle
Everything is in a jam
Stuck right in the middle
Doors on both sides seem to slam
No one seems to want me
Only God will take me like I am

Well my brothers criticize me
Say I’m just too strange to believe
And the others just avoid me
They say my faith is so naive
I’m too sacred for the sinners
And the saints wish I would leave

Now I’m stuck here in the middle
Everything is in a jam
Stuck right in the middle
Doors on both sides seem to slam
No one seems to want me
Only God will take me like I am

Written by Mark Heard
© 1981 Bug and Bear Music (ASCAP)

