It has been said that modern people love the music and culture of their late teens and early 20s the most. I don’t totally agree with that, but it’s probably true that about half of my favorite albums were made during that time of my life. High on the list is an unfortunately almost forgotten gem by a guy named Pat Terry, “Film at Eleven”. I just got finished sitting and listening to this marvel in one sitting (on vinyl, no less).

In the early 80s, when I first found faith in Christ for myself, I was surrounded by a lot of people whose idea of faith was basically turning off the brain and believing whatever somebody else told them, and for a while, I was a little nervous that I couldn’t hang onto something like that, until I was rescued from that way of thinking by a handful of authors (including Francis Schaeffer and Peter Kreeft) and more to the point, a handful of songwriters who engaged their heart, soul, faith and fingers to craft songs that came at faith without avoiding hard questions. Pat Terry was one of those. (The others were Mark Heard, who produced 3 Pat Terry Records in 82, 83 and 84, and Bruce Cockburn.)

This album might appear on CD or iTunes someday, but as of today, all you can do is find an old out-of print vinyl copy. It’s probably in my top 5 favorite records I’ve ever heard (still sounds great to my ears by the way), and unlike all the others of my very favorite albums, might even have TWO of my favorite songs ever (“Christ Alone Will Wear the Crown” and “In My Dream”).

I don’t know why I’m posting this other than to encourage those of you who still have a record player and some determination and curiosity to check it out if you can find it.

No, you can’t borrow mine.

Sorry.

Christ alone will wear the crown
worn by many others
When will mankind lay it down
and join our hands as brothers

