OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a continuation of my exploration of songs from LIGHT.

Anointed One” is supposed to be offensive. Yeah… I know… right? I was thinking of making it speed metal or something, but decided you wouldn’t even bother listening then. But I very intentionally crafted the song to basically sing, as worship, the meaning of the word “Christ”… and yet without using the word “Christ”. Very tricky. I hope I succeeded, not only in talking about who Christ is (the one we will follow, the anointed one) but what our response is (nothing else holds our heart, and we will do what Christ commands).

I’m reminded every time I read “Christ” in the Bible, that it offended everybody every time it was spoken of as Jesus’ title. It is not his last name.

The idea of “Christos” is that of an anointed one. To the Romans, this would be a term, “Lord” basically, that only applied to the Emperor. To the Jews, it was a reminder, every time it was spoken, of the early followers of the Way and their insistence that Jesus was, in fact, the fulfillment of every Messianic prophecy in the Scriptures.

The word continues to offend, today, if we mean it.

The use of this word also connotes that I do not swear allegiance to a country, king or ruler on this Earth. That my only allegiance, my only devotion and my only service, is to God, and to God alone. If I pledge allegiance to my flag or country, it is only second, and FAR second, to my allegiance to God and his Great News.

If you find that offensive because I’m supposed to be true-blue American or whatever… I think I will politely decline to apologize for it.

Anointed One

O Anointed One, we will follow you
You’re the one who is faithful, the one who is true
We’ll do everything that you told us to
O Anointed One, we will follow you

No man, no woman
No promise or no earthly hope
Can ever hold my heart
Will ever keep my heart

No king, no country
No beauty or no angel
Can ever hold my heart
Will ever keep my heart

 ©2015 Peter J. Hamm, All rights reserved. You can buy and download LIGHT pretty cheap right here.

