OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a continuation of my exploration of songs from LIGHT.

Ephesians in chapter two tells us that we “who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ. For he is our peace; in his flesh he has made both groups into one and has broken down the dividing wall, that is, the hostility between us.

I think you need the “bad news” part of the story that tells us that we are lost, strangers, aliens, outcasts to really appreciate the “good news” that we’ve been brought near, we have been found (we didn’t “find” ourselves), we are known, we belong, we are part of the family. And that is the very short journey I hope that this song, “All So Lost“, takes you on.

An interesting thing about the song structure that you may notice here is that there isn’t really a verse/chorus/bridge or what have you framework, but rather just sections that simply tell the story and move on.

This song tumbled out of my brain in literally a few seconds as I was on my way to work one day, and I struggled to get it written down quickly at the piano. And for those who care about such things, it’s my favorite song in the collection.

It’s been pointed out to me that it’s too short. Well, I guess I just wanted to leave the listener wanting more. More good news, more redemption, more grace, more mercy.

All So Lost

We are all so lost
We are all so lost
We are all so lost
Lost and lonely

So cry out and sing
So cry out and sing

Sing out and he will find us
Cry out and he will heal us

We have all been found
We have all been found
We have all been found
No longer strangers

So cry out and sing
So cry out and sing

Sing out, his love has found us
Cry out, his love has seen us
Sing out, his love surrounds us
Cry out, his love he has freed us
Sing out, his love, he gives us

Cry out, his love won’t miss us
Sing out, his favor lives on us
Cry out, our God is with us

 ©2015 Peter J. Hamm, All rights reserved. You can buy and download LIGHT pretty cheap right here.

