We despise it. It’s that simple. As certain events have unfolded in the past few days, my social media feed has blown up with rhetoric from both sides of an issue that, in the 21st century in USAmerica, shouldn’t even exist. I admit that in the midst of it all, I’m rather proud to be a Methodist (not Pride in the evil biblical seven-deadly-sins sense, btw…).

I continue to be a little mortified by my association with other people of the Christian faith who think that Jesus would applaud the act of discriminating against people you misunderstand or fear or just don’t want to understand. And I struggle with what I’m supposed to do about it. More than I am, I suspect…

Our Book of Discipline says it better than I ever could. I would say that, at least as far as Methodists are concerned, there should be no question that we can not support, and must actively oppose, any kind of discrimination that is somehow “justified” by religious freedom. There is more on other kinds of equal rights and discrimination issues in the Book of Discipline. If you are interested, you can read it all here.

Equal Rights Regardless of Sexual Orientation

Certain basic human rights and civil liberties are due all persons. We are committed to supporting those rights and liberties for all persons, regardless of sexual orientation.

We see a clear issue of simple justice in protecting the rightful claims where people have shared material resources, pensions, guardian relationships, mutual powers of attorney, and other such lawful claims typically attendant to contractual relationships that involve shared contributions, responsibilities, and liabilities, and equal protection before the law.

Moreover, we support efforts to stop violence and other forms of coercion against all persons, regardless of sexual orientation.

