This is the fifth of several “song blogs” I’ll be doing to tell the stories behind the songs on “Protest Songs“. (You can listen or download for free or whatever you want to pay here.) This is the one song I have written that just totally always comes back to me.

 

This is my favorite song I’ve ever written, and it has been 25 years or more since I did it. The lyrics are inscrutable, I admit it, and I’ve tried 3 or 4 times to make them more accessible, but the original words still work best for me.

What is it about? I’m glad you asked. Not sure. I do know it’s about the desperate nature of a created thing to reach out to its creator. Beyond that, I’ll just let those ridiculous words speak for themselves.

It is, I think, the fourth time I’ve attempted to record this song and capture everything in the recording that I hear in it. I got closer this time, and maybe I’ll give it a rest now. I didn’t intend to record the song over and over again, but it just happened.

