This is the sixth of several “song blogs” I’ll be doing to tell the stories behind the songs on “Protest Songs“. (You can listen or download for free or whatever you want to pay here.) This was a fun song to write sitting on the front porch of the Farm about 8 or 9 years ago.

 

Almost 10 years ago I wrote a song called “Hands, Feet, Heart & Soul” when I took a few days off at a favorite spot of our family called simply “the Farm”. I sat on the front porch swing and worked it all out. Some of you have heard or sung that, and some have heard that story.

What you don’t know is that I wrote another song at the exact same time. Maybe the least personal song I ever wrote, but I thought it was kinda fun. So here it is.

A lot of love songs written by Christians have a spiritual subtext, and that always annoys me, but… then again… this one does, too. So imagine that the jilted lover is God, and the one that is being sought is your soul… I normally hate that kind of cliché with a passion… but here it is anyway…

