This is the last of several “song blogs” I’ll be doing to tell the stories behind the songs on “Protest Songs“. (You can listen or download for free or whatever you want to pay here.) Here’s the final one for you.

 

I  couldn’t end on such a down note. The opportunity to be part of a community of faith that is potentially such an amazing example of God’s work in the world is humbling and marvelous. We are, indeed, all in this together, and that’s an opportunity, not a trap.

I need to dedicate this one to the late David E. Bish, my pastor and boss from July 2005 until March 2011, for “assigning me” to write this song for a service when we realized we couldn’t find a song that said what we wanted to that particular week. Dave passed away suddenly in February and will be missed by all who knew him, but waits to greet us in glory.

